Generative syntax (part 2 of 2)

Generative syntax assumes that all sentence structures of natural language are generated by a dedicated language module within the brain.  The syntactic hierarchy consists of (i) words, (ii) constituents and (iii) sentences.  In the previous essay, I considered some basic properties of words and constituents.  In this essay, I consider sentences in more detail.  In section 1, I introduce tree diagrams and discuss two alternative structures.  In section 2, I introduce the lexical tier.  In section 3, I introduce the X-bar scheme.  In section 4, I introduce the functional tier.  In section 5, I briefly consider semi-lexical elements.  Read the full PDF here: Generative syntax 2

Leave a Reply

